A New Fantasy Experience

Fantastic Blog Hop Summer Splash!

blog tour bus banner

 

 

 

 

 

Stop by the Fantastic Blog Hop’s Summer Splash event on Facebook! Meet authors, chat, discuss, ask questions or even answer some! We will be hosting from 9pm Thursday 8/14 to midnight Friday 8/15. COME ON BY!

THE FANTASTIC BLOG HOP’S SUMMER SPLASH

Q & A plus Trivia about me!

How did you first become interested in writing?

I used to draw little stories out, almost comic book style, before I could write. I remember drawing out a story about a princess that runs away on a black horse, while I was lying on my grandmother’s living room rug in front of a cold fireplace and listening to the music of cicadas outside the open windows. I couldn’t have been more than six.

 

What was your favorite book or books as a child?

I remember loving Old Yeller, The Chronicles of Narnia, and the Little House on the Prairie collection.

 

What was your favorite chapter to write and why?

Actually, my favorite chapter is in the “work in progress,” book four. It is a scene of simple symbolism and character emotional growth. I call it The Waterfall scene.

 

Which author do you feel your stories are most like?

I’m not sure, but one of my readers described them as Anne Rice meets Margaret Weis.

 

Tell me about your muse?

In reality, my muse (as in what prompts me to keep writing) could be pinpointed as my best friend, Khanada, because I started writing these stories for her to read, and my desire to entertain her is still a motivating factor.

 

Who are some of the authors who inspire you?

Well known ones include Stephen King, Anne Rice, Douglas Adams, C. S. Lewis, Lewis Carroll, Shakespeare, and Poe. Recent ones include Heather Poinsett Dunbar and Christopher Dunbar, Tracy Angelina Evans, and Tori Truslow.

 

On to the fun stuff! Here’s one of those “stranded on a desert isle” questions. If you could only have five songs with you, which ones would you take?

In no particular order:  “The Game” by Disturbed, “Cracklin Rose” by Neil Diamond, “Stigmata” by Abney Park, “Space & Time” by VNV Nation, and the last is a toss up, either “Cantara” or “Oman” by Dead Can Dance.

 

Okay, go get your purse. Now dump it out and tell us what’s in there. :)

4 passes to Titanic: The Experience, various receipts from Publix and Walmart, a checkbook, my son’s social security card (I have mine memorized but always seem to need his for school stuff), strawberry lip balm, change, keys, pens, and club cards to Petco and Staples.

 

And if you could have five fictional characters to dinner, which five would it be?

Edmund Blackadder, Frodo Baggins, Maire Conghal, Awvarwy Mandubratius, and (if you’ll forgive me) Dharromar Bhaalaweiss. Although, Frodo would probably be the only one I would invite back.

 

If you were forced to switch genres which would you write and why?

Probably romance or horror. Of course, sometimes those can be synonymous. One thing that keeps my stories from being romance is that I don’t believe in “happily ever after” endings. I could write one if I was forced, though.

 

What is the easiest aspect of writing? The hardest?

Easiest: getting into the characters’ brains. Hardest: promoting my books.

 

Are you a fan of the genre that you write in?

I do enjoy fantasy/sci-fi movies and books. They can be either brain candy or poignant allegory.

 

Are you a pen and paper author or do you use a computer to write?

I use both. It depends on where I am when the idea strikes. Occasionally, I end up scribbling on napkins.

 

If you couldn’t write, what would you be doing instead?

I also enjoy designing costumes, especially historical ones.

 

What about this business surprised you the most?

How difficult it is to summarize my stories.

 

The house is on fire, which do you save, your laptop or your book collection?

I would probably grab my laptop because my book collection can be replaced.

 

What is your favorite color? Is color important in your stories?

My favorite colors are blue and purple. I find blue serene and purple is powerful. I do use color to distinguish or identify certain things or characters in the books. More than that, I associate certain colors with certain characters. I had always just thought of them with those colors and then one day hunting on the internet, I found a site that gave spiritual aspects to colors. I found the colors that I had associated with my characters to be strangely apropos. Three of the descriptions are on my The Worlds of Jorthus by R. D. Hays facebook page.

Leave a Reply

